Sony Xperia SP User Reviews and Ratings

₹ 16,141
Currently unavailable
Sony Xperia SP

Sony Xperia SP smartphone with 4.60-inch 720x1280 display powered by Qualcomm Snapdragon S4 processor alongside 1GB of RAM and 8-megapixel rear camera.

4.2 1,311 ratings &
1,311 reviews
  • 5 ★
    778
  • 4 ★
    282
  • 3 ★
    97
  • 2 ★
    48
  • 1 ★
    106
Write Your Review
Filter Reviews:
  • All Reviews
  • 5★ (778)
  • 4★ (282)
  • 3★ (97)
  • 2★ (48)
  • 1★ (106)
Displaying 1-30 of 1,311 reviews
Sort By:
  • Best midrange phone ever?
    Aravinda Krishna (May 9, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    Sony Xperia SP was launched in April, 2013 and I just bought it a few weeks ago, meaning that the model was almost a year old since its launch. However after going through benchmarks like Quadrant and Antutu, I was surprised to find that it performed equal or even better than the flagship models of 2013. The phone was recently updated from 4.1.2 to 4.3 JellyBean adding new features and new UI. However, I faced a lot of bugs after updating, but nothing serious that would prevent the daily usage of the phone. A KitKat update is likely given the phone's popularity, so that's good news for new buyers. The phone comes with a Dual Core 1.7GHz Qualcomm Snapdragon processor and 1 GB RAM. Don't be put off by the dual core processor as it performs better than many other quad core Snapdragon processors offering a smooth as silk experience. The 1 GB RAM is sufficient for day-to-day multitasking, however, a bit more RAM would have made a tremendous difference to the overall experience of the phone. The highlight of this phone, especially for gamers, would be the Adreno 320 GPU of the phone. This will easily play the latest high-end games and Full HD videos without lag or stuttering. The battery is a 2370mAh battery, lasting an entire day easily even with heavy usage. Further, day-to -day usage with Stamina mode ON would give you a whopping two full days of usage. Verdict: The best midrange phone out there for under 20k that punches above its weight.
    Is this review helpful?
    (1) Reply
  • Great
    Nagarjuna Varada (Jul 16, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    Very beautiful and durable phone, good looking stylish performance is excellent its better to improve camera quality and front cam will be increased to min 2 mp for better viewing video calls.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • SONY XPERIA SP: M Loving it <3
    Sahil Prajapati (May 31, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    I nevr recommended sony phones before because of dull screen..but wen I saw this phone in sony's shop it changed everything..this phone pulled me towards itself. Its design, the way it is crafted its awsome. I specially love the red color. Its main highlight is its transparent illumination panel, which gives the phone a floating look. Xperia SP has properly utilised the illumination bar's color changing ability. SP has an 8mp Xmor RS sensor which is great for photography, It has 1.7 ghz dual core snapdragon chipset with 320 gpu is great for gaming. This phone can easily put most of the quadcore phones to shame. Screen is 720p which is great for watching videos. It even supports full HD videos and now it can play all video formats thnks to sony. I have played asphalt 8, real racing 3, amazing spiderman 2, dead trigger 2 all work perfectly. There's no lag while using the phone. Music quality, video quality because of Bravia engine 2 and xloud are great. You'll love this phone frm the moment you see it. Its value for money. Specially those who want to buy a phone in price range of 18-20k this the best phone avaliable in market.Even sony's new Xperia T2 and xperia M2 are same like xperia SP. Even the antutu benchmarks show that Xperia SP is superior to all the phones in price range of 20-26k. And dats why i give it 5 stars. And recommend this phone for others.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Very Good
    Chitrang Dani (Jun 19, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    For a normal smartphone usage it is an excellent piece. Plus the Timescape UI is beautiful :-) Fully satisfied with the product.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Superb Performance and Price Sony UI
    Dilmeet Singh (Mar 1, 2014) on Flipkart
    Superb Performance and Price Sony UI is simply too good and Aderno 320 Takes Care of Gaming Really Well Battery Back up Great however Updates were a bit slow so Hope Sony is able to deliver them a bit quickly!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • well i was really impressed
    Jeethan Leon Fernandez (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    well i was really impressed wit this phone even before it appeared onto flipkart...n i was really very sure to buy this phone..bt by reading all the reviews em a little afraid to buy it cos of its camera...is the camera tat bad??...can any of u plz help me out cos i really love this phone...so can anyone plz reply and help me out whether it would b worth buyin it..??
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • if you you are a
    Kishore Kumar (Jun 1, 2014) on Flipkart
    if you you are a gamer just go for xperia c because it lags every game in android 4.3 update still waiting for a bug fixing update.phone lags in android 4.3 but it is excellent in android 4.1.2 update
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • it was great experience using
    Aditya Chahal (Sep 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    it was great experience using this awesome pone.it is one of the finest phone i have used within this range.and thanks to flipkart who have delivered me this within 18 hours which was really not expected. pros: good touch great looks good camera quality illuminated lights are the best feature fine and sharp sound long battery life cons: quite heavy front camera is not good i suggest that people who want to buy phone within this range this is the phone they should look for.honestly saying xperia is much better than samsung,nokia,htc,micromax and blackberry.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • My Gorgeous Angel
    KARTHIKA (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Xperia Sp is freaking awesome with Illuminating lights , 8mp camera , Bravia Engine 2 ^_^ !!Definitely the best mid-range smartphone that Sony has made to date.Sony continues to set a benchmark ,love the Hardware & design of this phone. . Transparent strip is a really cool feature and I enjoy it. The camera does not exactly impress me..
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • best graphics in affordable pricing
    Gunjan Shah (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    For those having second thoughts abt this phone because of its processor... This mid range device is powered by the snapdragon msm 8960 'pro' processor cloaked at good 1.7 ghz with adreno 320 graphics... The processor though dual core runs at par with the last years beasts tegra 3 and exynos 4412 and manages to even beat them in some benchmarks.... And the adreno 320 graphics is miles ahead of geforce and mali 400. To a surprise the phone beats the flagship beast xperia z and zl in some benchmarks... So this device is capable of running high graphic games like dead trigger, six guns, shadowgun, nova 3, modern combat 4..... Pretty easily at its native resolution of 720p So bottom line if you are looking for a gaming phone in low range , this should be your choice over the galaxy s3 and htc one x.....
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Awesome phone.
    Suyash Binjola (Apr 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Been using the phone for about 4 months now...just got a new update..which has made the phone even better changes after the update: touch has become more responsive new short menus added to notification bar the camera has become even better...especially the low light pics...they are coming out really well..and can easily match a point and shoot.. the battery backup is still good Pros This phone is an actual beauty,the build quality is topnotch. the rubberrized back gives a really good grip, and is not prone to scratches like the cheap plastics others are offering. Pros The display is really good, i guess the ideal size.I would recommend you to buy a screen guard, however my screen did not experience a single scratch even though i got the screenguard after a week. the processor clocked at 1.7 ghz, makes most tasks absolutely smooth.the processor a snapdragon s4 is better and more efficient that the quadcores samsung is giving. i love the UI, its smooth and unobstrusive. simple games like angry birds, temple run1 and 2, subway surf etc work really well multitasking is not a problem. i really love the camera, it has to be the best in its class,its way better than galaxy s3, note, htc one (compare on a computer screen and you will see the difference) The battery stamina mode is really useful, i only need whatsapp and my gmail to work in the background,(calls and messages work normally in this mode) so it only allows these two to work , therby saving a lot of battery life, battery easily runs for one and a half days, though i do charge it every night. Dont be stupid to just look at the specs and post a comment, which people love to do, use it and you will realize how wrong you are The illuminations are just gorgeous. Cons: the battery takes more than two hours to charge. the front camera is not great. Overall i am satisfied with the purchase, sony deserves the premium it charges, and this phone is definitely a class apart, great for the price point.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • SPlendid !!
    Sagnik Bhattacharya (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    This is a piece of ART. Got it for 23.5k and I am still drooling over it. I did not get a case from the shop, got a matte finish screen guard as there isn't one included in the box. Make sure to buy a decent pare of earphones/headset with this one if you want to listen to the Walkman app in all its glory, because the earphones supplied are crappy(By which I mean no Bass). The furiously fast processor, the gorgeous screen and the LED strip below are the showstoppers, followed by the humongous battery, the aluminium frame and the camera(the flash is good too). Go for it, SONY has gifted us with a not-so-stripped-down sibling of the Xperia Z. Have at it. My guarantee : YOU WILL NOT REGRET THIS DECISION PS. Internal usable memory is 5.3 so get a 8/16 gig memory card along with it.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Beware Samsung guys..Here comes the boom!!!!!
    Supratim Biswas (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Samsung can't even touch the height where sony already is...How can u guys even compare a S3 with this one..My former babe xperia s was way faster than the S3...I mean seriously how cn sony sell this beauty in just 25 k...It's nt fare..This should've been more priced than S3...However in this price range,it's the best smartphone u cn get..Dn't think twise guys...Go for it...n' enjoy the feeling of being a member of the Xperia House...
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • AMAZING PHONE...................!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    ABHAY MANGAL (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Amazing phone . amazing specs and this time sony didnt leave any scope for complains . there are no lags and the display is amazing amd u will feel as if u r there . :D GOOD JOB SONY.....!!! KEEP IT UP...!!!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • fantabulous phone
    Dhiman Deepak (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    bought this mobile from anmol telecom chandigarh,sector 22 for 22,500.. gives u feel of cream quality sets ie samsung s3,s4 htc one etc. no lag ,hd screen,awesome graphics(adreno 320),multitasking at its best... go for it guys rather then spending 35-40k.. just luv it...
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Xperia SP (~~~~ Simply Perfect~~~~)
    Dhruv Chatkaria (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Recently bought it(though not from flipkart) for Rs. 24k after thoroughly researching each and every other phone present out there in this price segment.Top reasons for buying this : -->Android Jellybean 4.1.2 : Latest offering in the Android OS series. -->720p HD Display(with Bravia engine 2) : So crisp and clear..!! -->1.7 GHz Dual-Core SnapdragonS4 pro processor : provides sufficiently fast and lag-free performance. -->4.6" screen : Appropriate size i.e. neither too small nor too Grand(:P). -->8 MP rear camera : that too powered by Exmor RS technology proves to be a great shot taker.Front camera though VGA but still it's fine for rare casual use. -->The Transparent multi-colored lightening LED band present at the bottom is simply a treat to the overall visualizing experience. -->Battery : 2370 mAh is sufficient and lasts the phone for longer as compared to other phones. -->The overall build quality of the phone and the New Xperia-Z resembling design makes Xperia SP look like a sibling of xperia Z.:) Verdict : If your budget is under 25k , GO for it. It's worth your each penny. SONY : U rocked with this one.It'll take you way beyond the likes of Samsung in near future..Cheers(y)...!!:):)
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • DESIGNED FOR HUMANS:SAMSUNG WATCH OUT
    Murali.K (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    fantabulous,amazing,wonderful,snappy,beautiful,innovative .... goes my list of adjectives about this beast.I would rate the performance as 9/10 considering the msm8960pro from qualcomm(faster than galaxy s3) and the beautiful 2370 mah battery providing the juice throughout the day.The screen is brilliant with mobile bravia engine 2 and it's a pleasure to watch youtube videos,kudos again to WALKMAN from sony for providing a crystal clear sound on par with APPLE.I SINCERELY RECOMMEND THIS PHONE FOR 20-25K BUDGET.PLZ DON'T GO FOR SAMSUNG S3 ITS ALREADY OUTDATED BY THE ARRIVAL OF S4:)
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Sony's BEST Mobile and the MID-RANGE KING
    Anish Pimpley (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    For about 2 yrs Sony's hold on the mid-range market has been strong and Xperia SP makes the 20-30k range a one horse race. Here is a concise review covering all grounds. Scores:(Compared with the best offerings) Screen: 9/10 (mediocre viewing angles the rest is Splendid) Music : 9/10 (Not too loud but great music quality) Battery: 10/10 (Will last around 2 days under average use) Performance*:11/10(You don't get an 11 for being just excellent) Browsing speed: 10/10(Beats One and S4 on many occasions) Camera: 7.5/10 (good 8mp shooter but Don't expect miracles) Video recording :10/10 (impressive 30fps@1080p with HDR videos) UI :9.5/10(mini-apps,Not bloated,Awesome lock-screen and looks) Software: 9.25/10 (On 4.1.2,Will get 4.2 soon) Looks:10/10 (Gorgeous looks and Premium Metal Body) Aesthetics:9/10 (Comfortable, little heavy cuz of METAL body) ................................................................ MORE ON PERFORMANCE*: This phone is unbelievably fast for it's price. Here are some benchmarks: *NOTE:for B-pi:(Lower is better) Phone......General speed.....Gaming.........Net surfing ..............B-pi*.....LP........EC........B-mark.....Vellamo Xperia.SP...184......348.......58.0*......2263......2497* Galaxy.S3...359......175.......41.3.......1247......1641 Galaxy.S4...132......788.......57.1.......2438......2060 Nexus..4....431......213.......53.9.......1794......1310 Conclusions: Xperia SP is faster than s3 and Nexus 4 on all grounds. Xperia SP is THE BEST GAMING DEVICE and among the best Browsing devices on market right now and a battery king. ............................................................... This is attributed to the adreno 320 GPU that has to run on a smaller 720p screen. If you are ready to settle for a mediocre camera (only IMAGING..recording is phenomenal), The Xperia SP is a NO-BRAINER. To put it bluntly: THE COMPETITION DOESN'T STAND A CHANCE.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Perfect Mid Range Smart Phone
    Amol Patil (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Good Design and Very good performance , I am using it and did not face any LAG issue or any performance issue , the LED illumination matches perfectly with the mood and the screen color.With the Jelly bean out of box no complaints ,one thing is they say it has 1 GB RAM ,but the user available is only 766 MB remaining is reserved for system, but still it is capable of playing any modern games and performing any tasks.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Perfect 10... Sad theres only 5 stars to award
    Ravikrishnan.N (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    I wont go through commenting abt the screen , blah blah.... This is an awesome(est) fone.... U buy it, u will take pride, else its a loss.... Just to add a few "-" pts... The audio aint LOUD :(, but of good QUALITY (y) Camera wont do u justice at nigh/night indoors... but who cares!! Viewing angles... nah, aint a reason not to opt for this fone. If u r plannin to get this, surely ur fone will beat every other competitors in its class, even the quad core ones. :)
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • CONFUSED(NEED HELP)
    Kirat (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    i want to buy a sony smartphone less than 25000rs . which phone should i go for xperia ion,sp,sl. or any other. i need help for my choice . i want a smartphone which supports high quality games, applications ,goood camera features, good music support system ,it should be good to show to my friends etc.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • sony the best
    Arul (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    i got this mobile yesterday thru flipcart....actually i had planned for xperia ion but changed my decision at the last moment and went for it. pros: 1.excellent display both indoor and outdoor 2.the 1.7Ghz is doing its work as said by sony ...no any lag in apps,browsing and also multi tasking 3.battery is one thing which way beyond the usual smart phones...i charged it only once till now there is only 50% used even after 2 hrs wifi browsing,2 hrs 3g browsing ,games ,camera usage ...thats really fantastic cons: 1.price 25990(including 16 gb sd card )but in showrooms its available at 25,000 2.the case is plasticky and no magnet lock not worth of 1990 as they say but as far as i am concerned the pros are great compared to the cons ....so go for it without any hesitation . i was using a samsung galaxy ace and sII but this sony xperia experience was really better xperia sp uses a micro sim..so if you are going for xperia sp have the micro sim ready if you have a confusion between samsung grand and xperia sp go for xperia sp no doubt in it.... if you are in confusion between xperia ion and sp go for ion bcos its more worth for 21k
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • value for money product
    Ravi KANYAL (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    i purchased this from local retailer and this is my review .... 1-if you are not satisfied with sound quality use any other sony headset with buds(like MH-750).supplied mh-410 is too bad. 2-Dual Core processor(Snapdragon S4) used in SP is more advanced and fast then many last year quad core processors . i got 160000+ score on antutu which is greater then S3.i have nearly 100 apps+games on my mobile at this time and still it is perfectly smooth 3-if you are gaming freak then this is best at this budget.andreno 320 graphics processor used in this phone is most advanced and powerfull at this time in mobile industry . all games i played on this are perfectly smooth. 4- battery backup is awesome for full day use. 5-camera is bit letdown here but still a quiet capable shooter.noise level is fairly high in low or medium light condition but in good light pics are great (camera is not as good as S3). i advise you to use normal mode(+HDR on) instead of superior auto mode for more pleasing photos. 6- Display is good except some viewing angle problem but its ok for me. black level is something low but video playback is very good on this screen. 7- Signal strength is good and during call voice is loud and clear from other side . thanx!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Awesome Phone
    Nikhil Mani (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Had booked for this beauty thrgh flipkart suring the pre launch booking. Launch was delayed but flipkart made good on its prmoised time of delivery so 5 star rating for delivery and packaging guys. next of the phone, wldn't want to give a false review so here's the deal been using the phone for sometime nw aftr all the updates n ofcourse apps download. for medium users it shld last ok for around a day n half. Long story short it rocks in every aspect videos to gameplay. sound could b a bit more but whn cmprd to quality of playback i guess things even up. Camera's is good wldn't wnt to make comparisons. All in all extremely happy with purchase.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • STYLISH xperia
    Ihsan (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    pros1. Design 2. Best battery in its class(better than s3 and htc one) 3. no lag(better benchmarks than s3 and htc one) 4. display 5. dedicated camera button Cons 1. Camera not good as expected. still can be adjusted, not that poor as others say. 2. light comes up while charging that cannot be switched off. 3. headphones, u can get sony mh750 for 290 bucks from ebay which is very good. Verdict: the best stylich phone in this price range, with very good processor and battery life. camera is not as expected, but feels like it will be ok with software upgrade. guyss a very good deall!!!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • XPERIA SP
    Arun Kumar (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Xperia SP - Worth the money... With heavy usage, The battery lasts for 1.5 days HD Clarity and Superfast The Sony Xperia SP is a good mid-range Android smartphone, especially if you want a phone that offers a good battery backup. Even performance wise, it does pretty well when it comes to doing day-to-day tasks and even playing medium to high end games, thanks to its Adreno 320 GPU. However, at an asking price of around Rs.25,000, we feel that the phone has been priced a bit on the higher side as we were disappointed with its screen and the camera's low-light performance.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Nexus 4 vs Sony Xperia SP
    Panda (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    For those of you breaking your heads over which phone to buy- Nexus4 or Sony xperia SP. One of my friends happened to buy a Nexus around the same time as I bought an SP. Here's a comparison of both, based on hand-on experience(NOT specs) Display: SP's bravia engine sets its display at a level above that of Nexus Weight: SP is considerably heavier and is more prone to scratches on the 'aluminium edges' Camera: Features are more or less similar. Indoor shots better in Nexus, outdoor shots and moving shots better in SP(thanks to exmor RS sensor) User Interface: SP is the same old UI all of us have been using for ages on android phones, Nexus has a refreshingly innovative UI Battery Life: SP lasts for around 20 hours at maximum usage(browsing, downloads, music, bravia engine) whereas Nexus lasts around 10. Both have battery saving modes. Multitasking: Both are super fast while playing games or multitasking. They never hang! Although heating effect is more pronounced in Nexus than in SP. But moral of story is that if you buy any of these two, you wont be disappointed! Both are value for money.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Simply awesome
    Tonu Alex (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    Bought it yesterday.. The feel is great.. Screen is awesome. UI is really smooth and no lags.. Battery and cam are decent. The free cover is good but not worth 1999. Nthg bad.. but please don't expect it to be a HTC One or X-Z or S4. this is X-SP and it has its real self.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • The best phone compare to all brands
    Tabrez Pasha (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    I bought this phone 15 days back its really worth for each penny u spend picture quality can b better apart from that clarity, gaming,touch gesture,battery backup,HD quality every thing is awosome and one more thing is - head phone. for 25k head phone should b better i felt very bad by seeing the head phones.rest of all is fantastic.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Best of Sony in this range
    Sushant (May 1, 2013) on Flipkart
    This phone is worth 25k! This is simply the best phone in this range. The phone provides awesome display with great ppi. The battery is brilliant. Just the inbuilt memory is a bit low,6 GB useable! But for that one can use a memory card (provide an expandable memory of 32GB) ! Rest one con is that the phone is quite heavy as compared to the Samsung phones. The voice quality of the phone is normal. The display is 4.6 Inch and the resolution is quite good! The look of the phone is unmatchable that is what made me lusty for Xperia. Overall,this phone is 5 on 5. A worth buy :)
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
more reviews

Advertisement

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2021. All rights reserved.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com