Sony A7C User Reviews and Ratings

Sony A7C
4.4 20 ratings &
20 reviews
  • 5 ★
    14
  • 4 ★
    2
  • 3 ★
    2
  • 2 ★
    1
  • 1 ★
    1
Write Your Review
Filter Reviews:
  • All Reviews
  • 5★ (14)
  • 4★ (2)
  • 3★ (2)
  • 2★ (1)
  • 1★ (1)
Displaying 20 of 20 reviews
Sort By:
  • A full frame beauty hidden in a compact body
    Gera (Jan 6, 2021) on Amazon
    There is a lot to be said about this camera. It has the full-frame goodness incorporated in the form factor of an Aps-c body. That means you are more likely to carry it with you everywhere, especially when traveling. Being a full-frame you have the ability to purchase some really nice Sony lenses, of course, some of them are really big and would make this not as compact. The viewfinder is just not pleasant to use. A compromise when trying to trim everything down. I love the articulating touch screen! If you want to make a 4K video on Youtube this is perfect. If you want to vlog on the go then you might prefer a wider lens but that would make the setup a bit heavier and clunkier. It can be done though. The menu screen does not have touch functionality. When closed you can have the screen facing inwards so as to keep it safe. The menu system is the older version, who knows if they will update to Sony?s newest version. It is missing a couple of dials and buttons: No joystick and most of the buttons will have to be used with your right thumb. It only has 1 SD card slot, a bit of a bummer if you wanted to use it as your main wedding or gig camera. Great autofocus and they were able to pack-in IBIS into the body, impressive for the size. This is really where I was floored, the camera helps you not miss that shot or keeps it from being blurry. Love that! Battery life is awesome. You get weather sealing, just make sure the lenses you purchase have that feature as well. I easily transferred files over to my smartphone via wifi/Bluetooth that the camera offers. Overall, this is a very nice camera for traveling or if you really want and need the articulating touch screen. You are going to have to spend a premium for that though. You are paying for the image quality of a full-frame sensor and the compact size versatility that the other Sony models don't offer. After seeing the images this camera produces, even the JPEGS, you will probably fall in love with it as I did. I added some straight out of camera jpegs. I received this product at a discounted price in exchange for my honest opinion.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Compact, full frame and amazing auto focus system.
    VickorH (Jan 3, 2021) on Amazon
    Pros:- Quick and accurate auto focus system- Great Image quality even with the kit lens.- Image quality handles very well in Low light environment.- Unlimited video timing.- Full frame camera in small body, great for traveling.- comfortable ergonomic grips.- Sony solid build quality. It will last for many years.Cons:- Only 1 custom function button.-
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Best Camera for $2,000
    Mosheyadelman (Dec 30, 2020) on Amazon
    The Sony Alpha 7c is by far the best camera I have ever owned.I love the retro style and duo color tone of Silver and black on the version I purchased. When it comes to photos, this camera has very precise colors and very good focus.I used to use a different brand and let me tell you, one of my pet peeves is when I hold down the shutter button and take multiple photos in quick succession, the other brand camera says please wait, and I cannot use the camera until it processes those images. Not this Sony! it has its own processing in the background, and just makes a queue, so you can continue to snap photos, and when you take a break, it just quickly copies them to the card! Absolutely amazing!I have not had the chance to test the microphone quality in a good setting, but from the little that I have tested it, this blows any other built-in camera on any other camera out of the water. Easily the best built-in camera I have ever used.The Sony A7c comes with a full-frame sensor which captures more light so you get this amazing depth of field, dynamic range and the detail is absolutely stunning.When you look at this camera compared to other professional cameras you are going to think it is less superior because it is half the size, BUT! do not despair! Sony has now moved into creating magic apparently, as this camera is by far better than its competition in half the size! This camera is so much lighter and smaller than most other cameras of the same quality, which makes this the perfect camera for all occasions!Videos are also very crisp with excellent lighting, and it shoots in 4k! I highly recommend this camera for anyone seeking a blog, YouTube channel, or just love photography!Video tutorial coming soon!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Small and mighty! Amazing full frame camera
    Amazon Customer (Dec 22, 2020) on Amazon
    Wow I feel like I am emerging from the Stone Age! This camera has amazing features and makes taking amazing shots and videos a breeze. I had heard a lot about the Sony mirrorless cameras but hadn?t had a chance to try one out but with the release of the A7c it was the perfect balance of price and features that I had to go for it! The real time tracking autofocus system is truly amazing and very fast allowing for fast capture of clear shots. I also really liked the 4K video recording and the inputs for a mic and headphones allowing clean audio recording with the video. This would be a great camera for anybody looking to take amazing photos and videos on the go. The size is great for travel it is almost pocketable and the kit lens has a great range. The collapsable zoom lens helped keep the form factor small and balanced with the size of the camera. I loved the silver and black color scheme for its retro feel but with modern technology. Coming from a APS-C camera, the amount of details and the dynamic range that is captured by this full frame is amazing. I didn?t think it would be that big of a difference but I can really tell the difference it image quality between this full frame and my old APS-C. The bokeh is mind blowing! No portrait mode on a phone can compete, the software makes it very easy to get studio quality results and always gets the subject in focus with the right amount of background blur. I would highly recommend it for any beginner photographer or somebody who travels a lot and wants something that can be tossed into and bag or large jacket pocket. You really can?t beat the size of this camera especially with a full frame lens, it?s almost the same size as the old digital point and shoots we all used to have.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Compact full-frame and full-featured travel camera with great build quality and choice of lenses
    A. Paul (Nov 25, 2020) on Amazon
    Sony's Alpha series is highly regarded by both professionals and enthusiasts. The 7C is a wonderful new entry in its product portfolio targeted towards vloggers, travel enthusiasts, influencers, or even professionals who would like to have an additional camera handy.It ticks many important boxes - light and well made, 4k video, compact mirrorless, full-frame, enough controls for the serious photographer, and compatibility with Sony's wide selection of E-mount lenses. External microphone and lights can be easily added, and a good quality company tripod should be fine.The form-factor on this is ideal for travel. I am still trying this out, but so far have been very happy with stills and video. This will definitely be my go-to outdoors and travel camera (when travel resumes). Highly recommended.Update 1 - I took the camera on a couple of local trips and love how easy it is to carry around. This is definitely much easier to carry around, both in dimensions and weight, compared to other DSLRs. I tend to shoot more because of this. You still have the full-frame capabilities capturing excellent photos and videos. The a7c is perfectly suited for travel, hiking, and vlogging with great autofocus and continuous eye tracking. The kit lens (28-60) does an adequate job with portrait stills and bokeh shots when traveling light, but thanks to Sony's extensive range of high-quality E-mount lenses I have also paired it with some Sony G Master series lenses for even better photo results. The audio capture is good and it's easy to add an external travel mic for pro results. Pasr19
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • This is not one of my favorite cameras right now.
    Hao (Jan 6, 2021) on Amazon
    This is not one of my favorite cameras right now. Small, light and easy to use. The most important thing about a camera is its size, and a good camera is the one that is willing to take pictures. In order to perform its function. And the full-frame function is too powerful and the picture quality is great. The important thing to mention is that its focus system should be one of the strongest I have used in cameras today.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Great
    Tiffany (Mar 16, 2021) on Amazon
    Great compact camera, easy to carry and fast focus on baby.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Great Portable Camera. Lots in a (relatively) small package
    Sunita Mahtani (Jan 14, 2021) on Amazon
    This camera is spectacular. I am a casual photography enthusiast. I thought I'd use this camera to shoot more food / cocktail photography but instead I've been using it for portrait and animal photography over the holidays. I've used the video to film fireworks and family time to put the camera to the test in different situations and scenarios. I've tested the camera in motion and in night with mostly stills and briefly used the video.Below is my comprehensive review of the Sony A7CAesthetic and Body: Absolutely beautiful casing with a retro feel. The silver and black feels like I'm shooting on a gorgeous vintage leica with a fuller body, The weight is actually incredible. So light to carry around. I've shot on a DSLR traditionally and am surprised at how much this camera delivers in the size of its body. It's got a great ergonomic grip that allows for stable shooting. Huge Kudos to Sony on the design of the a7c. Some have said that the viewfinder seems small, I disagree. It is perfectly ergonomic and fits the architecture of the camera. The built in level helps retain crispness on the shots.Still photography: Truly remarkable and sharp pictures. I have not used this semi professionally yet and have used it mostly for family gathering over the holidays for enthusiast shooting. The ISO 50 to ISO 204800 give the camera pretty much nightvision. It's insane. The features on the 28-60 lens are sharp and crisp. It also is quite easy to create a lot of bokeh. It does take some getting used to to "flatten" your images.Video: shoots at 120FPS makes for Seamless and incredibly smooth filming. Once again that ISO even in incredibly dimly light areas produced flawlessly smooth filming. It's absolutely beautiful. I can't wait to start using this camera more seriously.All in all, this camera is amazing. It has everything I've looked for as a casual enthusiast photographer. I am learning how to use this camera properly, and am so impressed with what I've been able to produce so far with it.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Best Camera for Your Lifestyle
    Chkforu (Jan 6, 2021) on Amazon
    Best Camera for Your LifestyleThis is the best camera for recording your lifestyle and express yourself. Sony Alpha 7C is the most compact full-frame mirrorless available in the market. Its lightness and well-balanced body help you carry it wherever you go without any second thought. Its uncompromising capability and quality let you obtain the highest quality images and videos anywhere and at any moment. I would recommend this camera for people who want to upgrade from crop body, serious about recording your lifestyle, content creator, professionals who need a second body.Swivel screenThis is the second Sony full-frame camera with an articulating screen. Another one that has this screen costs much more. It changes the game in the sense that you have much more freedom in your shot angle and also monitor yourself for the self-shot without any other accessories.Sony Auto Focus TrackingAutofocus and Video focus tracking are out of this world. You will not sacrifice shots that are out of the focus. Especially, Auto tracking enabled in the video makes this camera best for the Vlog. The enhancement on the screen brightness is an upgrade from a7m3. Some suggest viewfinder is a downgrade, but I had no problem with it. I also like how detail you can adjust focus transition speed to make it more cinematic. I wanted it to have an updated Sony menu system, but it has the previous generation touch menu system with a menu button in a weird location.Video reliabilityThis is also a great camera for video recording with unlimited video recording minutes. You can make a professional-quality video for any type of conference or lecture. I see this can be even a great sub-camera for the professionals to have that reliable second and third view of the recording.New Compact bundle LensSony created a new FE 28-60mm F4-5.6 compact lens to go in hand with Sony A7C. I took several shots with this lens and it was a pleasant surprise. I usually do not have any high hopes for the bundled lens and especially the small lens. However, this produces great quality images. The compact lens size and lightness draw you to use it more often than you think.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Perfect for travel
    Vineet (Apr 15, 2021) on Amazon
    In love with it. Got with kit lens and tamron 70 180. The autofocus is so good. Gyro stabilization is extremely helpful.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • This is a superior full frame camera in a small package
    Camera Lover (Mar 27, 2021) on Amazon
    I love this camera and have used it for landscape, flowers (with the Sony 90mm macro), and running children (with the Sony 85mm f1.8). The autofocus is top of the line and the eye focus is excellent too. Even the kit lens, the 28-60mm that comes with this camera, is surprisingly sharp and very useful. Really a great job Sony has done putting a big sensor in a small camera.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • The BEST camera I ever had!
    Proton (Feb 22, 2021) on Amazon
    Amazing camera for low light video/photo, great ISO, full frame sensor, what else should be in the great camera? The body is compact and lightweight, battery lasts, I can continue on and on, only positive things I can tell about this camera. simply the best!
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Small frame BIG power
    Safxtacy (Jan 6, 2021) on Amazon
    I?ve always wanted to jump on the Sony mirrorless hype train, but never had the opportunity to. On top of the size, the ?silver? is a nice touch and I recommend that colorway to everyone in the market for it as it definitely adds a little flair to the camera to make it stick out from the usual all black camera bodies. The flip screen is a definite nice touch. I do wish that it had been touch screen, but the full motion is a nice touch. Definitely will help with selfies and vlogging if you do that. For me it is nice to be able to rotate and see what I?m shooting in weird angles. Speaking of seeing what you?re shooting, the Sony camera app allows you to see the EVF on your camera screen and capture as well! The kit lens is small and compact. Overall I don?t find much use for it as I hoped because I rarely shoot video or vlog, but if you do any of those, it is a definite must. It?s so compact and with it being 28mm on the wide end, you can get plenty of frame in your videos. The Auto-Focus is AMAZING. I?ve had plenty of shots messed up with other cameras because the Auto-Focus was off or too slow. Sony definitely has been the leader in the game and I?m happy to know the hype is well served. The A7C also has the newish Eye-AF feature. I haven?t had too much experience using it, but from my initial tests it is great and combined with the AF-C and zone focusing it is quick to switch and switch back to Eye-AF. Definitely an amazing feature. Overall this camera is great. If you?re looking for a small compact camera for vlogging/streaming with a flip screen, this is it. Or if you?re like me and just want a compact camera for all your travels (next year when covid is over), this is definitely it. Where previously I would have to think twice about taking my camera with me, this Sony A7C is a no brainer. It literally fits in my jacket pocket and is a take everywhere type of camera.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Light weight and excellent new compact zoom lens
    Robert E Good (Jan 6, 2021) on Amazon
    Light weight and excellent compact zoom lens. Excellent autofocus. I own an A9 and the A7c is very very good. If you value light weight and sharp pictures you will love it. Be advised however that the viewfinder could be better and you will need to adapt to having fewer physical controls - not a problem for me.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Full frame quality in a small body
    Joms De Guzman (Jan 1, 2021) on Amazon
    Perfect as a b-cam if you?re in full frame already, really compact, but if you?re upgrading from apsc and want to stay light and compact, this is the one.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Nice smaller & lighter, great for travel and day trips
    Elaine R (Dec 17, 2020) on Amazon
    The Sony Alpha 7C takes great crisp clear photos & video. I love the smaller size, it makes it so much easier for making videos. The smaller size also makes it easier to use on smaller tripods like I use for my unboxing videos, so I can get close up. Since it is also lighter it will make it easier to use on a hand held device for my outdoor videos opposed to the large DSLR I have tried to use. I am really impressed with the quality and ease of use of this Sony Alpha 7C. I am also in love with being able to change out the lenses, that makes it so versatile for the different types of videos that I make. Anything from content creating to my own personal family fun videos & cooking videos. It is a great little camera and very versatile. I can't wait to get a couple more lenses and really do more with it. I think the Sony Alpha 7C is going to make a great travel camera as well. It will be easier to pack and carry in my bag instead of having to carry an extra bag with my larger heavy DSLR.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • I've owned better cameras
    Pamela (Nov 20, 2020) on Amazon
    Pros:Great Battery Life (3hrs recording)No record time limitGreat AFGreat IQGreat Low LightFlip-out ScreenNo wheel locksCons:Fewer buttons than other FF camerasStill overheats in challenging conditions10MP APS-C stillI think the idea of making a small full frame camera body is silly since the lenses are so large. . The results are mostly the same great 4k video (and bad 1080p video) that the A7III produces, with fast AF and excellent low light. In tests performed I found that this camera lasted just over 40 minutes recording in the sun and was unlimited in the shade. Ultimately, what you have here is a cool retro design that is less practical for use. It has a smaller body which can be handy but the effort it puts in isn't the best. I rather have a bulky camera and see beautiful results....It does weigh very lightly and this is great for when your on the go and shooting. I think this camera is great for Vlogging or taking quick videos.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Missing parts
    Jlw Collection (Nov 24, 2020) on Amazon
    Great camera, however it arrived with several missing parts in which i couldn?t use the camera right away.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Not impressed
    M. Likavec (Nov 20, 2020) on Amazon
    This is a wonderfully adequate camera. The kit lens feels cheap and plastic. The body is better. I have found the A7iii a better buy. The camera really does not have a small camera feel. Nothing really impressive for the money.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • DO NOT BY FROM AMAZON!!!Camera itself was great, read!
    Bobby (Feb 10, 2021) on Amazon
    So the camera it self was pretty good for a starter full censor 4K camera, image quality was really good and I really had no complaints. Then I got a pop up that said the battery was unsafe for operation and I was like hum what?s going on here. So I called Amazon and they told me to call Sony, Sony said that based off my description of the battery it was likely a counterfeit, the Sony label had pretty clearly been ripped off and put on this one. If this was a brand new camera I would have thought nothing of it, but I took a chance with a ?used good condition? camera, for about $100 dollars off give or take I would have had to spent 80 for a new battery even with a discount that Amazon offered for me to keep it I ended up returning it and and I am going to buy a new new one from B and H which is a better deal anyway.All this to say if you are buying an opened box one of these be ware you will probably end up with the one I returned and have the same problem as me. Plus while googling I found that counterfeit batteries are pretty common issue. Which is why Sony evidently put that warning in the camera. EDIT! Even more beware here! The return process tool longer then 30 days even though Amazon received the unit they tried not giving me my money back so I had to go through my credit card and report fraud every time I called they have me a new story so if you are going for the pre owned or open box, don?t...
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply

Advertisement

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2021. All rights reserved.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com