PSA: Today's the Last Day to Save All Your Photos on Flickr Before They Get Permanently Deleted

Share on Facebook Tweet Snapchat Share Reddit Comment
PSA: Today's the Last Day to Save All Your Photos on Flickr Before They Get Permanently Deleted

Flickr will start deleting your photos in case you've got more than 1,000 of them, without a Pro account

Highlights
  • Flickr has a limit for 1,000 photos for all free users right now
  • All photos above the 1,000 mark will be deleted starting today
  • Users can either back up their photos or switch to a Pro account

Do you still have a lot of photos on Flickr? Today is your last chance to save and download all your photos from Flickr before the company starts deleting all your data. Photo-sharing website SmugMug, which now owns Flickr, had earlier announced its plans to kill the free 1TB storage tier. Flickr users will need to pay $50 per year for 1TB storage or opt for a free plan capped at 1,000 photos. In case you have more than 1,000 photos, you should start backing up your photos right away.

Although most professional users may have already saved all their photos, some users may still have a lot of photos waiting to be backed up. Flickr's new owner had stopped letting users upload more than 1,000 photos in January this year unless someone signed up for a Pro account.

From today, users can either switch to a Pro account at $50 per year or just download all their photos on a hard drive or move to them to a different cloud-based service such as Google Photos. Flickr will take a few months to delete all the photos, but after today you may not get the chance to save them.

Apart from unlimited storage, Flickr's Pro account offers a bunch of other useful features such as ad-free experience, access to a community of professionals, advanced statistics, and more.

To download all your photos from Flickr right away, follow these following steps:

1. Sign in to your Flickr account on the desktop or on the mobile site.
2. Once you're signed in, use the top menu to navigate to 'You' and go to 'Photostream'.
3. On this page, you'll see all your photos on Flickr. To select photos, click on 'Camera Roll' on the menu that appears or simply click here.
4. Now you can either select single photos by clicking on them (hold the shift key to select multiple photos). 
5. Once you've selected all your photos, you'll see a 'Download' button at the bottom of the screen.
6. Click on it and you'll notice a small pop-up that lets you create a zip file with all your photos.
7. Clicking on it will kick off the process and you'll receive a link to download the zipped file shortly. 
8. In case you missed it, it'll be visible under the bell icon on the top right-hand side on Flickr's website while you're signed in.

It's worth mentioning here that Flickr will only let you download photos in batches of 500. If you've got a lot of photos to back up, it may take a while.

Once you've downloaded all your photos you can upload them to your favourite cloud-based service.

Comments

For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Further reading: Flickr
Harpreet Singh Harpreet is the community manager at Gadgets 360. He loves all things tech, and can be found hunting for good deals when he is not shopping online. He has written about deals and e-commerce in India for many years, as well as covering social media and breaking technology news. More
Flipkart’s Binny Bansal Breaks His Silence After Abrupt Exit
Vivo V15, Vivo V15 Pro Appear in Leaked Promotional Image, Specifications Tipped Ahead of Launch

Related Stories

Read in: தமிழ்
 
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2020. All rights reserved.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com