IPL 2017: Where to Watch Opening Ceremony and Matches Live Online, What's the Live Stream Time, and More

IPL 2017: Where to Watch Opening Ceremony and Matches Live Online, What's the Live Stream Time, and More
  • IPL 2017 starts on Wednesday, April 5
  • The first opening ceremony is at 7pm on opening day
  • You can watch IPL 2017 matches online on Hotstar

IPL 2017 begins on Wednesday, April 5 - the 10th edition of the T20 extravaganza, where the Sunrisers Hyderabad franchise will defend the title it won last year. Unlike previous editions, this time each team will host its own IPL 2017 opening ceremony at its home ground. Sony has TV broadcast rights for matches, but you can watch IPL live on your phone as well. With a total of 60 matches to be played between April 6 and May 21, expect a lot of thrilling action, nail-biting finishes, and perhaps a few controversies in this edition of the Indian Premier League.

Sony has the global television rights for the tournament, but if you are not near a TV every time a game is being played, you can still catch all the action online by live streaming IPL 2017 matches. Here are the answers to all the questions you may have the IPL 2017 live streaming, opening ceremonies, and match schedules.

Where can I watch IPL 2017 online?

If you want to watch IPL live online, you can watch the stream on Hotstar, which has the digital rights for the 10th season of the T20 tournament. To watch the IPL matches live, you need Hotstar Premium subscription, which is priced at Rs. 200 per month and gives full access to the catalogue via its mobile apps and website. To watch IPL 2017 online, simply open the Hotstar app on your mobile or tablet, or the Hotstar website from your PC. You can simply start watching by choosing the IPL match - if you don't see it on the homepage, just navigate to the Sports tab.

On the other hand, you can watch IPL 2017 free online via the Hotstar app - without the Rs. 200 subscription. But there's a catch. The IPL live stream on free access is delayed by 5 minutes, but this is still better than not watching the match at all when you are on the go, and don't want to spend on a streaming service.

When is the IPL 2017 opening ceremony

This year, all eight franchises will host their respective IPL 2017 opening ceremony on the day of their first home match. The first IPL 2017 opening ceremony will start at 7pm IST. Here’s the full list:

  1. Sunrisers Hyderabad – April 5
  2. Rising Pune Supergiants – April 6
  3. Gujarat Lions – April 7
  4. Kings XI Punjab – April 8
  5. Royal Challengers Bangalore – April 8
  6. Mumbai Indians – April 9
  7. Kolkata Knight Riders – April 13
  8. Delhi Daredevils – April 15

Stars such as Amy Jackson, Riteish Deshmukh, Tiger Shroff, Shraddha Kapoor, and Parineeti Chopra, among others, will perform at the opening ceremonies this year.

When is the first IPL 2017 match?

IPL 2017 will kick off with a match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore at 8pm IST on April 5 at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Hyderabad.

IPL 2017 match timings

The day matches will start at 4pm IST, while the evening matches will kick off at 8pm IST, as per the IPL 2017 schedule.

Important IPL 2017 dates

The IPL 2017 league stage will continue from opening day till May 14, after which the points will be tallied for one final time before the top four teams advance to the Qualifier stage. On May 16 is Qualifier 1, May 17 is the Eliminator date, and May 19 is the date for Qualifier 2. The IPl 2017 Final match, where the winner of the tournament will be crowned, is scheduled for May 21. The Qualifier, Eliminator, and Final matches will be played at 8pm IST on the respective dates.


For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

The resident bot. If you email me, a human will respond. More
Qualcomm, NXP Receive Antitrust Approval
Samsung to Ride Soaring Chip Profits in Q1, Galaxy S8 Aura in 2017

Related Stories

Share on Facebook Tweet Snapchat Share Reddit Comment



© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2021. All rights reserved.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com