Asus ZenFone 5 User Reviews and Ratings

Gadgets 360 Rating
Asus ZenFone 5

Asus ZenFone 5 smartphone with 5.00-inch 720x1280 display powered by Intel Atom Z2560 processor alongside 2GB of RAM and 8-megapixel rear camera.

2.8 52 ratings &
52 reviews
  • 5 ★
    10
  • 4 ★
    14
  • 3 ★
    3
  • 2 ★
    5
  • 1 ★
    20
Write Your Review
Filter Reviews:
  • All Reviews
  • 5★ (10)
  • 4★ (14)
  • 3★ (3)
  • 2★ (5)
  • 1★ (20)
Displaying 1-30 of 52 reviews
Sort By:
  • Bang For Buck phone
    Suraj KR (Aug 13, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    I have used the Asus Zenfone 5 for around a month and writing a honest review of a very trusted brand,Asus. Looks: The phone does look premium for its price range but the bezels look a tad bit large for my liking,it being a 5 inch screen. The power buttons and the volume rockers are easy to press.The screen has got gorilla glass 3 protection,so that's a thumbs up Performance: The phone runs on an Intel Atom 1.6 ghz dual core processor.But since it relies on hyper threading,it makes android feel like its a quad core(adding 2 virtual threads). And that's where the performance stands out. Scrolling seems buttery smooth and the Ui itself is refreshing to say the least.I tried games like Asphalt8 and Riptide GP and it handled them with ease. The only con here is the heating up after a short period of usage itself. Overall,a more than good performance from Asus. Camera: The camera part was the one which interested me since Asus claim they use pixelmaster technology to highly improve on the quality of images captured. And true to their claims,Asus does manage to take outdoor shots with fine details and less noise.But indoors,it leaves a lot to be desired frankly. Lot of noise creeps in but something had to give for a phone priced at 10k. Battery: Asus provides us with a non-removable 2110mah battery. I'd say don't have high expectations and you won't be dissappointed. Overall: I had a pretty good experience using this phone for the better part of one month.And i have to admit that it doesn't get much better at 10 k. Asus is a worldwide trusted brand and you should buy it if you are stuck at a budget of 10k.
    Is this review helpful?
    (2) Reply
  • Good phone with awesome specifications and low price.
    Khaiser Shaik (Jul 11, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    I wanted a handset with gud cam and battery, i was going for nokia lumia 625 but after watching zenfone 5'specifications, i dropped. All the features of this phone are good . I am waiting for reviews from users about battery life.
    Is this review helpful?
    (2) Reply
  • Great Phone with good price
    Tapsi Khanna (Feb 6, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    I was really impressed by the display graphics of Zenfone 5 when I saw my friend watching a movie on his Zenfone 5 phone. Although the reason I decided to buy this phone was when I heard the surround sound in the earphones. It was difficult for me to believe that I was getting a theatre like movie watching experience through this hand held device. That?s not it; it has an 8MP main camera which clicks brighter high definition pictures even at night. I really love this phone and would recommend to anyone who is planning to buy a phone with big display screen.
    Is this review helpful?
    (1) Reply
  • Good phone - Worth recommending.
    Remesh Govind N M (Jul 29, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    Hello All who are reading this. It took me a bit of looking around and waiting and trying and trying again to get hold of one. And when I did I must says the decision was a good one. Guaranteed update to Kitkat. Dual core with 4 threads (treat as 4 cores) Good 2G RAM( Once Kitkat is out that will be 4 times what you need for your memory heavy apps). Glove mode (if you are in cold place in winter like Delhi etc) Great performance. Swipeable keyboard. Great custom apps and good upadates. Feels like Apple like thinking (Not just hardware but also software what makes a great support). e.g (tasks and calendar apps) Ablity to set where you want apps to be installed. Hide apps ( kid mode) Easy mode for elders ( Large Icons). Swipe down left side for Notifications Swipe down left side for Tiles Reading mode !! Built in memory cleaner and Battery optimizer. - Brightness control and setting icon right on top for easy access. Very little bloat ware. Support of SD Card ( people on the internet claim 128 GB card support). Well that is small computer there! If you are Rooting fan there are custom roots out there and possibility for unofficial root. You will love this ** You can merge contacts ON YOUR PHONE.** Down side ======== Battery some time heats up Downside some apps may not work fewer than 5%. Camera is not the best in the world.
    Is this review helpful?
    (1) Reply
  • Excellent phone of all time...
    Syed Moheimeen (Jul 22, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    3G is working fine,without any hassle....no lag in UI,Camera is excellent...it rocks...am using the phone....no heating sensation comparing to Samsung galaxy phones.....lot of apps open,heavy talk time,games,music,etc...no heating problem till now....am using zenfone 5 16gb.....camera is good for 8 megapixel,comparing to other branded mobiles,cnt expect everything in single bundle for this price range....still it rocks at all times...am satisfied..
    Is this review helpful?
    (1) Reply
  • Awesome fone in good price.
    Naween Jangra (Apr 23, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    as per this specification it fulfill my all requirement in my price range. only one is feature light ambient sensor is missing..
    Is this review helpful?
    (1) Reply
  • Asus ZenFone 5
    paul thomash (Oct 27, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    i was bought this phone 3 days back phone is Very good but battery backup very very poor use Wifi also data plan if use normal to use very poor
    Is this review helpful?
    (2) (1) Reply
  • nice phone
    Domnic Xavio (Apr 12, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    nice futers comparing other mobiles
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Good Handset
    Shashi Kanth T S (Apr 9, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    ;-)
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Finest so far
    Syed Fahim (Mar 6, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    Hi guys one of the finest android so far specially camera features are awesome, I am loving it
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Awesome apps with long life battery
    Neena Khonsla (Feb 16, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    Everything about ZenFone 5 is appealing. Initially, I bought this phone for its beautiful and sleek design but now the display graphics provided by its 5inch wide HD screen impresses me more. The 8MP main camera takes highly detailed pictures. I carry my phone along with me to take pictures whenever I travel. I highly impressed by all its features.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Awesome asus-zenfone-5 in good price
    Bhilendra Yede (Jan 22, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    I m happy to use this phone....any one can buy without comparing others phone. asus-zenfone-5 i s best
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Great phone , best camera
    Juanfran Fuentes (Dec 30, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    After a month with this terminal , I can advise you to your next mobile option . It is a complete mobile that reminds me of the iPhone , with its Zen UI interface . Your camera , despite being 8 mpx , is super full . It has several filters such as rewind time ( choose your best photo in a few seconds before and after photo) , HDR mode ( for better quality of colors) , panoramic mode , night shots in low light , selfie mode ( indicates the number of people who appear in the selfie , and when you recognize their faces will proceed to make several pictures) , embellishment , miniature, depth of field , intelligent removal (removes that person who crosses behind you automatically) , all smiles ( burst of photos, choose the one you like ) and gif animation mode . In video mode also will have the time interval mode to record videos with traffic lights and impressive . Surely your camera is amazing. And not just that , it's all together and great price.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • very good
    Ramanuj Singh (Dec 11, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    Asus zenfone 5 full fill my all requirement. it is faster mobile phone under 10 thousand. but one big problem in this phone direct video call not support. other wise this phone is very good
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Good phone but bad thing is the game laggy
    Wallance Ai Wei (Apr 25, 2018) on Gadgets 360 Recommends
    I am asus fan so I just look,Not Bad,
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • not bad
    Rafat Mahmud (Mar 23, 2016) on Gadgets 360
    sometimes it got hanged. battery is poor. camera is not so good. regulation is good. well designed. speaker is not so good
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Nice Phone, nearly awesome
    Shobhit Gupta (Jun 10, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    I have used this phone for more than 8 months and have not faced any major problems in its working. I will not say it is a 5 star phone because i used micromax cavas 3 HD earlier and it was just awesome. This phone is a bit weaker, i would say. Apart from touch, every thing is weaker than micromax phone. The better thing is providing 16 GB for apps, i think. Games are bit slower or hangs sometimes. Many apps show problems in this phone which was not the case in canvas. The display got dead last month and phone stayed for 1 month in service centre. Although they have replaced the phone and gave me a newer on. So i will say Asus service is Bad (1 month & no extra warranty provided) & Awesome (Got a new phone). :P
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • More advantages and less dis-advantages
    Lucky (May 9, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    Myself Manjunath Lucky from Bangalore, i got new Asus Zenfone 5, When it comes to style and shape its sexy stylish and curvy with less price then any other 5" display, 8 MP main camera and 2 MP front, 2 Gb Ram and 1.6 GHZ with all kind of good features. when it comes to battery - u can use a day if u don't use much of Whatsapp and FB. I have a problem that the display light gets on automatically can anyone tell me whats the problem.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • star
    Ddjmd Das (Mar 16, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    4 Star
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Fingers on the lips Critics...
    Hari Haran (Mar 1, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    When i first looked in the reviews,there was many negative cmnts....But after using the phone for 2 weeks,its like the critics are lies...If there is any problem wit performance,update,camera-it must the defect of the delivery...In other ways,the phone is just awsm except the battery draining issue.....Batter drains like hell for heavy users..Rooting is the only solution.Smooth experience..Battery rating - 2/5.......excluding battery,i would give it 5/5
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Things I experienced with my Zenfone 5...
    Joshua Sernadilla (Jan 4, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    First of all, i bought this phone for gaming and watching movies ( I think most of us do...) Well, in terms of watching movies, i think I'm quite satisfied with my phone's performance. But in terms of gaming, i'd rate this phone with 3.5 stars. It's almost unbelievable to buy a phone with great specs in a low price. But every time I play ClashofClans, it says Connection error every now and then. It happens most of the time even though I'm the only one using WiFi connection at home at around midnight and it sucks, (especially when your on a raid) It overheats occasionally too, especially when you're playing hardcore games and I think it's just normal with a powerful processor inside it. It also has a cool camera (when you're patient) All in all, this is a good phone, but it also has its limitations and weaknesses in as much as it has its own strengths.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • My ASUS Z5 came with android 4.3 but after 1 week I got over the air (OTA) update for Android 4.4 Kitkat. Camera quality is good for photos and videos
    Pravin Kumar Yadav (Nov 30, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    My ASUS Z5 came with android 4.3 but after 1 week I got over the air (OTA) update for Android 4.4 Kitkat. Camera quality is good for photos and videos. and it has many camera related features which really works. Its been 2 months without screen guard and still no scratch even I traveled with it. It gets heated while playing games for hours continuously. Overall phone quality is very very good. It never lags even playing high end games and while watching full HD videos. Remember guys it is a Rs 9,500 mobile. At this price battery backup received with 2 gb ram and good quality mobile is very good. Asus changed the trend of mobile companies for giving only 1 gb ram to less than 10000 worth mobiles. The best feature is its Zen UI. ZenUI makes phone worth not less than Rs 16-18000.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • budget phone with awesome features nd specs
    Gunner Kickazz (Aug 17, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    The build and design is of excellent quality and even the hardware performs way better than most of the smartphones in this category. Display is good , has special mode for reading too.5 inch is big to hold in one hand performance is great with intel (dual core hyper treading tech) processor and 2 gb ram . Games such as fifa 14 , nfs mw, real racing 3, dead trigger worked flawless without any lag. 5gb free internal storage and more than 1gb free ram available. Apps can be sent to ext card. Camera is best in this segment. 8mp shoots gr8 pics and vedio are good. front 2mp cam good for vedio chat. there are many modes like hdr,low light etc...... cons: No backlight for 3 capacitive keys at below the screen, which troubles when using during low lights. battery life reduces quickly even while navigating , basic tasks etc and gets warm too. these are not major problems. overall good phone in this price point with fantastic performance,display, camera q uality. Waiting for kikat update....
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Very nice but.....
    Subramaniam Chandrasekaran (Jul 11, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    All are not bad but the second sim slot not accept 3G sim is the draw back, and 2gb ram 8 gb internal memoey 5inch display are likeable Why operating system is not kikat?
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Lock and unlock not working properly
    saji saji (Oct 30, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    when i was closed the flip cover the phone was sleep mode but the flip is open the phone con tuned to sleep mode i used only in one month two time same problem to this mobile this time give to service center i sent a problem letter to asus team they said it is flipcover problem i know it was flip cover problem how can i solve the problem but they not give the answer i was used Samsung and Nokia mobile they not like this problem
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Overheat on 3G network
    Budinantro Budinantro (Apr 9, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    Zenfone5 (--A500CG; T00F; RAM 2GB; EMMC 8GB; Intel Z2560--) Latest update: version 2.21.40.44_20150117_82 My zenfone 5 is unbelievably hot just after I use it for 15 minutes of accessing 3G/HSDPA network. During that 15 minutes, I usually check/update applications via google app and update my emails (gmail and outlook). Even browsing the web using asus browser and/or firefox for just 10 minutes makes this device hot. It is so hot at the upper part of the phone at the back-side and at the touch screen. It is NOT the battery which is hot; it is the upper part of it. So, it is not the battery issue. It is so hot that, if I still need using my phone, I must put off zenfone5 back cover and use it in front of an electric fan. It will be normal/cool after about 2-3 minutes in front of the fan. But, I can not do the above (put off back cover and use a fan) if I am outside. :) I use 2 SIM cards. The 1st is on 2G only and used for voice call. The 2nd SIM is on 3G only for data connection. I turn off the 2nd SIM when I do not need 3G connection. The heat issue does not exist when the 3G connection is off for both SIM cards. I have switched the SIM cards, but the heat issue persists. The heat issue never appears even if I use my Z5 to call and/or to accept calls in 2G mode for 30 minutes or more. Most of the applications that I use are the build in ones. I hate games so there is no game on my Z5. My fonepad ME371MG never faces this heat issue. I use ME371MG for accessing 3G network by using firefox and email apps; even use is for usb tethering for hours without heat problem. Asus developers, F-I-X this heat issue on Zenfone5 .
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Pathetic battery life if you are a mid-to-heavy user
    Prabha Chakravarthy (Sep 12, 2014) on Gadgets 360
    Cons: 1. No lag for almost all apps and multi-tasking, particularly for a phone in this price category. 2. Good crisp display and lag free video playback. 3. Good aesthetics and feels good in the hand. 4. Good camera with some fun options and extensive settings and modes to play with. Most of the time the photos look great if not excellent. Pros: 1. I use the phone heavily and almost connected to the Wi-Fi all day long, the power saving mode is set to Ultra Power Saving, but I have to charge the phone three times daily. All night, then around 12 noon, and then again around 6 p.m. I'm not sure if this is a particular problem to my phone or an universal one. PLAYING CANDY CRUSH FOR ABOUT HALF AN HOUR CONSUMES 30% OF THE BATTERY. 2. The HDR mode and low light mode is not up to mark and the picture colors are off most of the time. 3. Heating issues sometimes, especially when playing for a long time. 4. The screen and the back cover is prone for scratching. 5. When you wiggle the phone there is a creaking sound which means not good build quality.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Great Specs Except for the BATTERY LIFE
    Raze Catabay (Aug 7, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    Everything works great no lags. Great RAM delivering fast switching between app BUT the battery life span is so short that it wouldn't last a day without charging again (using ultra battery saving mode). A BIG NO NO.... i hope they fix this soon.
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • Poor service at service center
    Riyaz Mulani (Jul 28, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    good phone with atleast 6 to 8 hrs battery backup, but very poor service at service center.. these guys need 15 days just to resolve the charging point issue.. however my phone is in warranty i will not recommend this phone to any one.. disappoint with the server not with the phone :(
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
  • VALUE FOR MONEY AT INITIAL, BUT SPARE PRICE TOO HIGH
    MUHAMMED NIYAS.T.K (May 15, 2015) on Gadgets 360
    THE WORKING SPEED, SOFTWARE, DESIGN, ETC ARE GOOD. BUT TOUCH PANEL IS POOR. IT WILL CRACK IN A SILLY DROP, ITS NOT REAL GORILLA 3 GLASS. Battery backup is also not good. CHANGING DISPLAY COSTS 75% OF TOTAL PRICE OF THIS PHONE..!! THIS IS A HIDDEN TRICK OF THE COMPANY
    Is this review helpful?
    Reply
more reviews

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2019. All rights reserved.