Facebook Repairs Bug That Prompted Brief iOS App Outages

App users began reporting on Twitter early Friday that they were unable to open Spotify and other sites.

Share on Facebook Tweet Snapchat Share Reddit Comment
Facebook Repairs Bug That Prompted Brief iOS App Outages

Facebook has resolved the issue that triggered crashes for apps including Spotify and Pinterest

Highlights
  • Many users began reporting problems with their iOS apps on Friday
  • Facebook has fixed the code change causing the outages
  • A major spike in problems was reported around 10:30am on Friday

Popular smartphone apps including Spotify and Pinterest suffered outages Friday for a few hours due to a bug in Facebook's systems.

Facebook has resolved the problem, a spokesperson said.

"Earlier today, a code change triggered crashes for some iOS apps using the Facebook SDK," or software development kit, the spokesperson said.

"We identified the issue quickly and resolved it. We apologise for any inconvenience."

App users began reporting on Twitter early Friday that they were unable to open Spotify and other sites.

Downdetector, which monitors for internet problems in real time, showed a rise in problems for a number of applications, including Spotify, Pinterest, Waze, and The New York Times.

It reported a major spike in problems around 10:30am GMT (4pm IST), and a decline in user issues at around 1pm GMT (6:30pm IST).


In 2020, will WhatsApp get the killer feature that every Indian is waiting for? We discussed this on Orbital, our weekly technology podcast, which you can subscribe to via Apple Podcasts or RSS, download the episode, or just hit the play button below.

Comments

For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and Google News. For the latest videos on gadgets and tech, subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Further reading: Facebook SDK, Facebook, iOS
Apple Supplier Foxconn Said to Plan $1 Billion Investment in India
Twitter CEO Jack Dorsey Donates $3 Million to Test Universal Basic Income

Related Stories

 
 

Advertisement

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2020. All rights reserved.
Listen to the latest songs, only on JioSaavn.com