• Home
  • Apps
  • Apps News
  • Facebook Forcing Users to Install Moments by Threatening to Delete Photos

Facebook Forcing Users to Install Moments by Threatening to Delete Photos

Share on Facebook Tweet Share Reddit Comment
Facebook Forcing Users to Install Moments by Threatening to Delete Photos
Highlights
  • This move made Moments No.1 app in US App Store.
  • Facebook is using notifications and emails to spread this message.
  • The last date to migrate is July 7.

Social media giant Facebook is pushing its users to download its private photo-sharing Moments app, users report.

The social network has begun sending out warnings that some photos will be deleted by July 7 if the app is not installed, Techcrunch reported, citing user reports.

The company's latest move has managed to make Moments the number one app in the US App Store.

Facebook is using notifications to spread this message, and further details can also be viewed from the Synced album's page on Facebook, the report added. Some users are also receiving an email.

Photo-syncing was an optional feature Facebook launched on iOS in 2012 which allowed users to automatically copy all their photos from their smartphone to a private album on Facebook. These photos are stored in an album called Synced (in the app) or Synced from Phone (on the desktop), the report noted.

Recently, Facebook served notice to the users saying, "Your conversations are moving to Messenger," to push people to Messenger.

For now, users can skip the notice but soon might be asked to download the Messenger app.

Written with inputs from IANS

Comments

For the latest tech news and reviews, follow Gadgets 360 on Twitter, Facebook, and subscribe to our YouTube channel.

Gadgets 360 Staff The resident bot. If you email me, a human will respond. More
Lenovo Vibe K5 With Snapdragon 415 SoC Launched at Rs. 6,999
Tesla Denies Safety Problems With Model S Suspensions
 
 

Advertisement

 

Advertisement

© Copyright Red Pixels Ventures Limited 2019. All rights reserved.